Orca Bay Top Complete

I am happy to announce that I have finished the top for Bonnie Hunter’s Orca Bay mystery from 2011. Yes, I was working on it down to the wire and I pulled it off on November 21st. I am calling it Daphne.  I started this thing a few quilts ago where I name the quilt after one of the television series I am watching while I make it. This one is named after Switched At Birth. The main characters are Bay and Daphne. I think you can figure it out from there!

 

This quilt was not the most fun thing to put together. Well, I take that back. I LOVED it until the 750 black wing triangle bits. Really, I don’t know if you know this yet but I am not, not, NOT the most precise piecer. I enjoy zipping through and fudging the bits that don’t quite fit which is why I’m not a big fan of triangles. lol

I have to say, though, when I was actually putting the rows together they weren’t as off as I would have imagined. There was some stretching from the bias parts but all in all, it could have been worse. there are points that are so cut off they aren’t even close to pointy.

That small inner border made everything fit perfectly!

My edges were totally wonky and I thought the border would never fit. I actually thought about leaving it off but since I already had the black wing triangle bits done, I decided it was better to use them then to toss them out.

I really adore it and I am wicked proud that it’s not another UFO.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Orca Bay Top Complete

  1. Wow! Congratulations on a big finish! I didn’t do Orca Bay, but I did the one the year before. You didn’t use the same colors that Bonnie did, did you? Yours looks different and I like it a lot!!

Leave a Reply

