Easy Street Update part 4 and 5!

Good morning! I know I’m behind on my Easy Street updates, but I am not behind on Easy Street! I was on a last minute trip to Indiana and was just too exhausted to get round to blogging.  Let’s have a look at how it went. 2012-12-17 19.31.35 I started out with The Shop Around The Corner.  I do like Jimmy Stewart. He’s such a fine looking guy in black and white. It was a cute movie and the flying geese simply zipped through the machine while I was watching him.  I don’t know if you can see it but I have a stiletto that’s actually a dental implement of some kind. I think my dad gave it to me when he was working for an orthodontics manufacturer. Regardless, the thing is wicked sharp and works well for keeping those points in line.

2012-12-15 10.11.002012-12-15 10.11.07When I was in Indiana visiting my grandfather, we stopped at an antique shop. Oh, they had just some wonderful things.  There was a gorgeous double wedding ring quilt that someone did a beautiful job quilting. It didn’t come home with me because I’m not really the quilt collector type… not yet anyway.

I did find a working iron that I thought was a total bargain. It was only $16!  There’s no steam and my goodness this thing gets hotter than Hades and it’s not even on Linen. I pressed a goose and normally with my “Kenmore 1600 watt plastic I’m a great iron” iron, I’ll slap my hand down on the piece I’m ironing to be sure it’s as flat as I’d like… with this one GeezO’Pete! I nearly burnt my hand!

2012-12-20 22.24.35

So, there are my flaming geese. It took me a while to get through the trimming. no matter how accurately I measure a seam, sew slowly, press carefully, it’s always off. At least it’s too big 99% of the time but it’s never the same spot so I can’t accommodate for it. It’s just random.

2012-12-24 07.48.52

I decided to work on Alice for the next unit. What did Bonnie call them? Squatting turkeys? Whatever they are, they’re flying geese with long tails.  I do like them but just look at all the brown in this quilt! At this point I’m thinking the brown should have swapped places with the orange. 2012-12-24 07.45.56

As much as I love them together, orange is my favorite.  Maybe Bonnie will surprise us with a purple and black on white step. I think she said on quilt cam that we are done with the turquoise now, which is my brown pieces. Speaking of Bonnie, you should go check out everyone’s progress right now at Quiltville!

Thanks for stopping by and have a happy Christmas!

7 thoughts on “Easy Street Update part 4 and 5!

  1. I’m really liking the looks of your Easy st.! It will be striking, I predict. Love all the brown dots. Congrats on the iron score! I love to hit the thrift/junque/antique stores. You never know when the bargain of the century will go home with you. Thank you for sharing your blog with us out in Quiltville! Christy Horton in N. AL

  2. I love your fabrics! Can’t wait to see how this quilt turns out. I also really enjoy “The Shop Around the Corner”. I’ve been thinking it would be fun to watch it again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

